Nov 22, 2018

Bob Wilson Of Umi Taka Bob Wilson of Umi Taka with his Summerville haul

The annual Awards Party for the Lake Ontario Racing Council (LORC) was held on Friday, November 9 at National Yacht Club. As usual, as the racers enjoyed the appetizers, the LORC and IRC season championship awards were presented. Also given out were the trophies and flags for the last remaining offshore race included in the LORC series, the Summerville Memorial. In addition, terrific looking Helly-Hansen jackets courtesy of Helly-Hansen and Volvo were given to the winners of the Etobicoke Yacht Club and the National Yacht Club Open Regattas.

Crew Of Glenmorangie


Crew of Glenmorangie

Kevin Brown and his Notorious crew out of National Yacht Club were the big winners in the IRC division, winning all but one trophy. Glenmorangie, sailed by David Wolff and his crew out of Etobicocke Yacht Club were the winners of the 8 Metre fleet and Mandate, skippered by Terry McLaughlin and Rod Wilmer from Royal Canadian Yacht Club once again took top prize in the J105 fleet. Other winners included Edward Rees in A-Salt (J24), Trudy Murphy of National Yacht Club  in Feisty (J80) and Live Wire sailed by Kim Piller of port Credit Yacht Club was victorious in the PHRF 1 fleet.

Kevin Brown and Notorious Crew



Kevin Brown and Notorious crew needed a truck for the trophies

All in all, dispute the nasty weather, a good time was had by those who braved the winds and rain.

Trudy Murphy of Feisty






Trudy Murphy of Feisty collecting her Helly Hansen-Volvo swag

-Wendy Loat

Wendy Loat is a long time Thunderbird skipper, Sailing Canada national judge and an active member of ABYC.